CBS Television Distribution Gradient Splitter Blue Bloods CSI: Miami Dr. Phil The Doctors Elementary Entertainment Tonight Hot Bench Inside Edition Jeopardy! Judge Judy Mr. Food Test Kitchen Rachael Ray Wheel of Fortune More ... Shows In The News About Us CBS Store Footage Licensing
Press Releases


Voting For Final Three Fan Favorite Contestants Opens Today

CULVER CITY, CALIF. (September 30, 2013) – Ken Jennings and Brad Rutter are among the field of contestants announced today who will compete in JEOPARDY!'s upcoming $1 million Battle of the Decades Tournament. Fourteen champions from each decade of the show's run (1984-1993, 1994-2003, and 2004-2013) will fill 42 of the 45 contestant slots; the final three spots (one per decade) will be determined by viewers' votes. Starting today, fans can vote for their favorites from the 1980s on Facebook, Twitter, and

"Every contestant returning for the Battle of the Decades has proven their worth on our show, and any one of them could win. Our viewers will be in for a treat no matter who comes out on top: tensions will run high, rivalries will be re-ignited, and the level of play may be the most intense yet," said JEOPARDY! host Alex Trebek. "The big question will be whether time has eroded their skills or added to their trove of knowledge. We shall see."

To participate in the tournament, every Tournament of Champions contestant from the past 30 years was asked to submit a video describing why they should be picked to compete in the Battle of the Decades. The contestants selected are as follows (listed alphabetically by last name):

1984-1993:       India Cooper, Richard Cordray, Tom Cubbage*CC, Chuck Forrest*, Leslie Frates, Phoebe  Juel, Mark Lowenthal*, Leslie Shannon Miller, Tom Nosek*, Leszek Pawlowicz*, Jim Scott*, Frank Spangenberg, Jerome Vered, and Bob Verini*.

1994-2003:        Dave Abbott*, Robin Carroll*, Jill Bunzendahl Chimka, Mark Dawson*, Michael Dupee*, Bob Harris, Ryan Holznagel*, Dan Melia*, Pam MuellerCC, Claudia Perry, Brad Rutter*, Rachael Schwartz*, Babu Srinivasan, and Eddie Timanus.

2004-2013:      Vijay Balse*, Colby Burnett*TT, Roger Craig*, Celeste DiNucci*, Michael Falk*, Stephanie Jass, Ken Jennings, Vinita Kailasanath, Tom Kavanaugh, Larissa Kelly, Dan Pawson*, Russ Schumacher*, Maria Wenglinsky, and Keith Whitener.

*Won Tournament of Champions CC Won College Championship TT Won Teachers Tournament

In addition, voting opens today for fans to pick the '80s Fan Favorite contestants. The candidates are Eugene Finerman (Chicago), Leah Greenwald (Boston), Michael Rankins (San Francisco), Andy Westney (Charlotte, N.C.), and Diane Siegel (Los Angeles). Viewers can learn more about the ‘80s Fan Favorite candidates and vote by visiting or they can also vote by tweeting #jeopardyvote and the contestant's name or via the Facebook app.

Voting for '90s and '00s Fan Favorites will open October 7 and 14, respectively. To catch up with every Tournament of Champions contestant from the past 30 years of syndication, please visit the TOC Yearbook.

JEOPARDY!, America's Favorite Quiz Show® and its host, Alex Trebek, are celebrating 30 years of "answers and questions." The top-rated quiz show in syndication, JEOPARDY! has become a pop culture phenomenon and holds the Guinness World Record for the most Emmy awards won by a TV game show (30 Emmys), as well as a 2011 Peabody Award. JEOPARDY! is produced by Sony Pictures Television, a Sony Pictures Entertainment Company; it is distributed domestically by CBS Television Distribution and internationally by CBS Television International, both units of CBS Corp. For more information, please visit


# # #

Go Back